Double precision Mohid executable and tools

MOHID Water forum. Questions and discussion around MOHID Water
gonzalo.dizlois.palomares@xunta.es
MOHID Beginner

Double precision Mohid executable and tools

Postby gonzalo.dizlois.palomares@xunta.es » Fri Jan 22, 2010 10:40

Hi,

I'm new at this, but I managed to build a simple simulation (this should be just a trial) to become more confident before daring to build more complex ones. I'm an autodidact to mohid since I've been learning through your wiki and forum websites and now I have a more determined idea of what I need to achieve good simulations. You're doing a great scientific divulgation job!
Now I have a model with very little grid spacing (2x2 m), I intend to use mohid around ports and near the coast, so this dx and dy are not THAT absurd, although this is just a trial, as I said.
Doing some research around the forum I managed to isolate the problem: I need the double precision *.exe to run the model, please, could you send It to me: gonza.dlp@gmail.com. Thanx!
I also tried to get the TydeAnalyzer application for matlab, is it avalaible? can I have it?
Now some miscelaneous questions?
1.-You cannot nest curvilinear grids. Right? Is there much diference in the accuracy of a simple and a curvilinear grid?
2.- Is mohid suitable for closed basins?, nearcoast?, and shallow waters?
3.-How can you introduce wind forcing?, just including the keywords in hydrodynamic.dat and atmosphere.dat would do? Is the ekman wind profile supported?
4.-How can we solve the problems with open boundary conditions(obc)? (what exactly is an open boundary condition?, is a dirichlet bd? (ex fixing water level with tide along a line)). What kind of problems can arise because of obc?

I know some of these are general questions, but references to bibliography, to mohid wiki, or to other web would be welcomed.
Thank you again, and congratulations to your contribution to science worldwide!!
Gonzalo Diz Lois Palomares. Portos de Galicia. Spain.