3d Water and Jet flow in flume

MOHID Water forum. Questions and discussion around MOHID Water
k.steenhauer@abdn.ac.uk
MOHID Beginner

3d Water and Jet flow in flume

Postby k.steenhauer@abdn.ac.uk » Wed Apr 28, 2010 15:56

Hi,

The main aim is to simulate an imaginary set up, that consists of a 20m long, 1m wide and 1m high (free surface) flume with a particular bed topography and with a for now uniform velocity profile at the inflow boundary and a high salinity (jet-like) flow near the inflow boundary. The free surface water level in the flume stays constant with a water depth of 1m. I am new to this, so I am afraid I have many questions.

I created a grid.dat file generated by
Mohid Digital Terrain Creator. I tried to run a simple Mohid water case without turbulence and lagrangian modules). However, it keeps generating a 'new bathymetry' file and tells me to
modify the Nomfich.dat file and then re-run the model. I do this, but then the same happens again. I cannot seem to get passed this error.

I don't understand the geometry module with regard to the amount of layers in the vertical. I want a very detailed picture of the dispersion of the high salinity flow, does that mean I have to increase my amount of layers in the vertical? So for instance divinding the 1m water depth that I have in 100 or more layers with a equidistant of 0.01m?
This is my geometry file (Note I have highlighted questions in the comments behind the parameters)!:

!FACES_OPTION : 1 !don'tunderstand rthis parameter
IMPERMEABILITY : 0
<begindomain>
ID : 1
TYPE : CARTESIAN
LAYERS : 100
EQUIDISTANT : 0.01
!LAYERTHICKNESS : 0.2 0.2 0.2 0.2 0.2 ! Is this needed when parameter EQUIDISTANT is set?
!TOLERANCEDEPTH : 0.05
DOMAINDEPTH : -99.0
!MININITIALLAYERTHICKNESS : 0.05
<enddomain>