Input and output time series

MOHID Water forum. Questions and discussion around MOHID Water
olas@inocar.mil.ec
MOHID Beginner
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Jan 01, 1970 00:00

Input and output time series

Postby olas@inocar.mil.ec » Sat May 29, 2010 05:07

I am starting with the mohid and I dont know if I am doing right the things.
1. I wanted to impose the tide with armonics but I dont know how, then I entered the tide like a time serie. The input tide time serie was generated with TidePreview.exe . Is It Ok?. Is there another way to input the armonics directly without generate a time serie?. I am sending the used files. The program ran with a DT of 4 seconds, but I am not sure about the results.

Mi bathimetric file is:
Batimetría Proyecto Tesis 2010
ILB_IUB : 1 156
JLB_JUB : 1 156
COORD_TIP : 2
ZONE : 17
ORIGIN : 619993.9 9745403.215
GRID_ANGLE : 0
LATITUDE : -2.303
LONGITUDE : -79.9210
CONSTANT_SPACING_X : 1
CONSTANT_SPACING_Y : 1
DX : 20
DY : 20

<BeginGridData2D>
99.0000000

-99.0000000
<EndGridData2D>

<BeginXX>
0

3120
<EndXX>

<BeginYY>
0

3120
<EndYY>


The gauge file is:

begingauge>
NAME : serie con armónicas
LONGITUDE : -79 55 22
LATITUDE : -02 18 09
METRIC_X : 620704
METRIC_Y : 9745435
REF_LEVEL : 0
TIME_REF : 0.000
EVOLUTION : Time Serie
TIME_SERIE_FILE: C:\\Mohidejemplos\\GeneralData\\watlevporarm.dat
LEVEL_COLUMN : 2
DT_SERIE : 300
<endgauge>


The input time serie is:
SERIE_INITIAL_DATA : 2010 05 19 00 0 0
TIME_UNITS : SECONDS
SECONDS waterlevel
<BeginTimeSerie>
0 2.9473531
300 2.8699386

85800 3.613717
86100 3.563883
<EndTimeSerie>

The hydrodinamic file is:

BAROCLINIC : 0
CONTINUOUS : 0
CORIOLIS : 0
TIDE : 1
RESIDUAL : 0
ENERGY : 0
WATER_DISCHARGES : 0
ENERGY : 0
TIDEPOTENTIAL : 0
WIND : 0
ATM_PRESSURE : 0
SURFACEWATERFLUX : 0
DT_OUTPUT_TIME : 3600.
OUTPUT_TIME : 0 3600
TIME_SERIE_LOCATION :C:\\Mohidejemplos\\GeneralData\\watlevporarm.dat

2. I want to generate a velocity time serie, but I dont know in which file and how, could you help please?


Thanks

Leo

luis_at_mohid.com
MOHID Developer
Posts: 553
Joined: Thu Jan 01, 1970 00:00
Location: Instituto Superior Técnico - Technical University of Lisbon
Contact:

Postby luis_at_mohid.com » Tue Jun 08, 2010 08:52

Hi Leo,

To define a tidal gauge in MOHID using harmonic components you can define it like this:

<begingauge>
NAME : nth test
LONGITUDE : -16.0000 33.0000 15.0000
LATITUDE : 15.0000 44.0000 35.0000
METRIC_X : -16.5543
METRIC_Y : 15.7432
REF_LEVEL : 2.08000
TIME_REF : 0.000000
M2 : 0.432953 -88.0402
S2 : 0.166823 -51.6513
K1 : 0.0566607 -4.53947
K2 : 0.0460439 -54.6424
N2 : 0.0820980 -108.615
2N2 : 0.0104858 -129.940
O1 : 0.0396148 -104.233
Q1 : 0.0186481 -4.40105
P1 : 0.0121636 -161.633
<endgauge>


The names of the components are actually keywords followed by the amplitude and phase.

Regarding generating a time serie output file with the velocities just define TIME_SERIE : 1 in the Hydrodynamic data file and then just define a keyword

TIME_SERIE_LOCATION : TimeSeriesConfig.dat


where TimeSeriesConfig.dat is a configuration file with the location of the grid cells where you want the output to be made, and should look something like this:

DT_OUTPUT_TIME : 600

<BeginTimeSerie>
NAME : Station
LOCALIZATION_I : 15
LOCALIZATION_J : 18
LOCALIZATION_K : 1
<EndTimeSerie>


Where DT_OUTPUT_TIME is the output frequency in seconds and the rest is the grid cell indexes where the output will be made. NAME is the name of the output file. You can add more <BeginTimeSerie><EndTimeSerie> blocks, which must have different names.

Hope this helps,
Luis

olas@inocar.mil.ec
MOHID Beginner
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Jan 01, 1970 00:00

Error in run

Postby olas@inocar.mil.ec » Mon Jun 21, 2010 11:13

Hello Dear

Could you help me again? I have problems with runs.

What is wrong? I have tried with different DT (The minimum I have tried was 2.5 seconds), but always appear the same error, I Have review the bathymetric also, I think It is OK, I don’t know What happen, the run always stop with the following message:


AuxZ, IUB , JUB, X, Y, I, J= NaN 156 156 1
0 134 2
FATAL; INTERNAL; Modify Chezy_ velUV-Hydrodinamic-ERR04
Program stop anormaly, see log file
Acceso Denegado


What is the meaning of It? Is there any cell wrong?
Have I reduce the time step more? Why? I don´t understand this.

My hidrodinamic file is:

CONTINUOUS : 0
TIDE : 1
ENTERING_WAVE : 0
RADIATION : 0
WATER_DISCHARGES : 0
RESIDUAL : 0
ENERGY : 0
DISCRETIZATION : 2
TIME_SERIE : 1
EVOLUTION : Solve_Equations
CORIOLIS : 0
TIDEPOTENTIAL : 0
WIND : 0
ATM_PRESSURE : 0
SURFACEWATERFLUX : 0
DATA_ASSIMILATION : 0
IMPLICIT_HORADVECTION : 0
RECORDING : 0
MOMENTUM_DISCHARGE : 0
MISSING_NULL : 0
DEADZONE : 0
BAROCLINIC_RADIATION : 0
LOCAL_SOLUTION : 1
BOTTOMWATERFLUX : 0
SLIPPING_CONDITION : 1
NONHYDROSTATIC : 0
STATISTICS : 0
DT_OUTPUT_TIME : 600.
BRFORCE : 0
OUTPUT_TIME : 0 3600.
<BeginTimeSerie>
LOCALIZATION_I : 60
LOCALIZATION_J : 25
LOCALIZATION_K : 1
<EndTimeSerie>

Very thanks by your help.

Leonor

luis_at_mohid.com
MOHID Developer
Posts: 553
Joined: Thu Jan 01, 1970 00:00
Location: Instituto Superior Técnico - Technical University of Lisbon
Contact:

Postby luis_at_mohid.com » Tue Jun 29, 2010 12:40

Hi Leonor,

The model simply became unstable. What is your grid resolution?

Can you post more details on the type of application? Maybe post the bathymetry or send it to me please?

Cheers,
Luis

olas@inocar.mil.ec
MOHID Beginner
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Jan 01, 1970 00:00

Instability of run

Postby olas@inocar.mil.ec » Sat Jul 03, 2010 13:33

Thanks Luis

I have sent the bathimetric file to your email


Leonor


Return to “MOHID Water”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests