Beginner

MOHID Water forum. Questions and discussion around MOHID Water
mrobelly@gmail.com
MOHID Beginner
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun May 19, 2013 15:09

Beginner

Postby mrobelly@gmail.com » Tue Nov 26, 2013 02:44

Hi there
I am just starting with MOHID modeling software. So I am trying to run a simple hydrodynamic module, but it crashes always

After created or activated the Hydrodynamic module, I did activate all related modules, such as Water properties, interface water air, interface sediment water, setting default values for all of them...
Additionally, I have created a bathymetry constant grid file using MOHID GIS, and I have prepared a tides.dat file with M2 harmonic values

I mean, I think I have done all the procedure but my simulation still crashes

After generating some steps, a message comes like this:

Running MOHID, please wait…
i,j,k
70 164 1
density, temperature, salinity
NaN -1363.659 -1909.123
Simulation_1


ModifyDensity - MOduleWaterProperties - ERR04


I have checked all the parameters, but I don't know what am I doing wrong

Please can anyone give me a hand?
I will really appreciate

Looking forward

Regards

conchi.calero@ctima.uma.es
MOHID Beginner
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Mar 29, 2012 15:06

Re: Beginner

Postby conchi.calero@ctima.uma.es » Mon Dec 02, 2013 11:17

Hi, I'm Conchi

Did you solve this problem? if so, could you tell me how did you do? I think your case is similar to it happens to me when I'm running Mohid en 3D baroclinic.

Thanks advanced

Conchi

melissacastera@gmail.com
MOHID User
Posts: 24
Joined: Thu Apr 19, 2012 18:48

Re: Beginner

Postby melissacastera@gmail.com » Thu Dec 12, 2013 11:14

Hello mrobelly,
I presume that you are working with a 3D model, because you activated the option BAROCLINIC:1. I believe that the model calculates the density (that depends on Temperature and Salinity) and it goes unstable.

I recommend you to start a simple model, choosing BAROCLINIC:0 (sometimes high velocities occurs and instabilize that properties) . After you checked this, we could see if it is dued to a inconsistency between input data or the way you defined Geometry.dat (vertical discretization).

I recommend you to look into samples files at mohid.com.

Regards,

mrobelly@gmail.com
MOHID Beginner
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun May 19, 2013 15:09

Re: Beginner

Postby mrobelly@gmail.com » Fri Dec 13, 2013 17:56

Hi Conchi… I have not tried to solve this problem yet, but I am afraid the problem is due to the input data… As Mellissa said

mrobelly@gmail.com
MOHID Beginner
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun May 19, 2013 15:09

Re: Beginner

Postby mrobelly@gmail.com » Fri Dec 13, 2013 17:58

Dear Melissa, Thanks for your help
One more question… If I just wanna run 2D, instead of 3D… do I have to set 1 layer within Geometry module???

Thanks in advance


Return to “MOHID Water”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest