Mohid GIS shuts down

MOHID GIS general discussion forum
vborges@eptisa.es
MOHID Beginner
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Jan 01, 1970 00:00

Mohid GIS shuts down

Postby vborges@eptisa.es » Tue Dec 11, 2007 17:25

Hi,
Every time I try to create a new project in Mohid GIS an error occurs that shuts down the program. The error message I get is: \"Unable to do the requested task because the process performer counter is disabled\" (rough translation of \"no se puede realizar la operación solicitada porque el contador de rendimiento 'Process' está deshabilitado\").

How can you fix this? Thank you.
Vasco Nunes

administrator@.
Site Admin
Posts: 348
Joined: Thu Jan 01, 1970 00:00
Location: Instituto Superior Tecnico - Lisbon - Portugal
Contact:

Postby administrator@. » Tue Dec 11, 2007 19:40

Hi,

What's your Windows version? Do you have the Microsoft .NET Framework 1.1 installed?

Best regards,
Luis

vborges@eptisa.es
MOHID Beginner
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Jan 01, 1970 00:00

Postby vborges@eptisa.es » Wed Dec 12, 2007 07:53

I have installed the Windows XP 2002 SP2 and .NET framework versions 1.1 and 2.
Vasco

administrator@.
Site Admin
Posts: 348
Joined: Thu Jan 01, 1970 00:00
Location: Instituto Superior Tecnico - Lisbon - Portugal
Contact:

Postby administrator@. » Wed Dec 12, 2007 09:08

Hi again,

Windows XP Professional or Home Edition?

Regards,
Luis

administrator@.
Site Admin
Posts: 348
Joined: Thu Jan 01, 1970 00:00
Location: Instituto Superior Tecnico - Lisbon - Portugal
Contact:

Postby administrator@. » Wed Dec 12, 2007 09:23

Hi again,

Apparently you need to delete an entry in your registry by opening HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\\SYSTEM\\CurrentControlSet\\Services\\PerfProc\\Performance and removing an entry named \"Disable Performance Counters\". This entry can also be located at HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\\SYSTEM\\CurrentControlSet\\Services\\PerfOS\\Performance.
This should be able to turn on the process performance counters.

You can read about this in these articles:

http://www.dotnet247.com/247reference/msgs/51/255103.aspx

or

http://groups.google.com/group/microsoft.public.dotnet.framework/browse_thread/thread/5b2a3b2401494ab4/e457806b555d33a8

Hope this helps,
Luis

vborges@eptisa.es
MOHID Beginner
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Jan 01, 1970 00:00

Postby vborges@eptisa.es » Wed Dec 12, 2007 11:55

Hi,
I have the Professional edition and in those two folders i couldn't find any entry named \"disable performance counters\"
Perhaps you have the Home Edition?
Vasco

administrator@.
Site Admin
Posts: 348
Joined: Thu Jan 01, 1970 00:00
Location: Instituto Superior Tecnico - Lisbon - Portugal
Contact:

Postby administrator@. » Wed Dec 12, 2007 12:44

Hi,

I have the Professional edition also. I don't have that entry in the entry also. Have you read the articles? They make other suggestions.
I'm sorry but I don't know how to solve this. It's the first time I see it. I'll try to look for a solution. If you get it working meanwhile, please post the solution for the rest of the community. Thanks,

Regards,
Luis

tomas.senabre@gmail.com
MOHID Beginner
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Jan 01, 1970 00:00

Postby tomas.senabre@gmail.com » Tue Feb 12, 2008 17:19

I solved this by using
http://www.experts-exchange.com/Pro...Q_21285890.html

in short, copy the two files:

http://www.calforums.com/perfc009.dat
http://www.calforums.com/perfh009.dat

into %Systemroot%\\System32\\

that's all

administrator@.
Site Admin
Posts: 348
Joined: Thu Jan 01, 1970 00:00
Location: Instituto Superior Tecnico - Lisbon - Portugal
Contact:

Postby administrator@. » Wed Feb 13, 2008 11:03

Hola Tomas,

Thank you very much, this will be for sure very useful.

Un abrazo,
Luis

tomas.senabre@gmail.com
MOHID Beginner
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Jan 01, 1970 00:00

Postby tomas.senabre@gmail.com » Wed Feb 13, 2008 11:11

Ok Luis,

Un abrazo, me alegro de volver a saber de tí. A partir de ahora participaré más en el foro, he terminado los trabajos que tenía pendientes y me voy a dedicar totalmente a MOHID.

Un saludo para ti y para todo el equipo...

Tomas

vborges@eptisa.com
MOHID Beginner
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Jan 01, 1970 00:00

the problem came back!

Postby vborges@eptisa.com » Fri Apr 16, 2010 14:08

Hi again,
The reply posted by Tomas worked great but after a few months the problem came back and my MOHID GIS keeps shutting down. I went over the solution again, but it appears that the .dat files no longer work.
Any suggestion?
Thanks
Vasco

luis_at_mohid.com
MOHID Developer
Posts: 553
Joined: Thu Jan 01, 1970 00:00
Location: Instituto Superior Técnico - Technical University of Lisbon
Contact:

Postby luis_at_mohid.com » Tue Jun 08, 2010 10:31

Hi Vasco,

Probably some Windows update mixed up things again. Sorry, I've got no solution for you. Please post here if meanwhile you found the solution.

All the best,
Luis


Return to “MOHID GIS (discontinued)”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest