MOHID and Windows Vista

General Announcements (New Downloads, etc)
vmarin@antar.ciencias.uchile.cl
MOHID User
Posts: 30
Joined: Thu Jan 01, 1970 00:00

MOHID and Windows Vista

Postby vmarin@antar.ciencias.uchile.cl » Fri Jun 15, 2007 00:32

Greetings everyone.

Has anybody tried to use the MOHID system (including MOHID GIS) with windows vista?
Is it compatible?

Best Regards


Víctor Marín

administrator@.
Site Admin
Posts: 348
Joined: Thu Jan 01, 1970 00:00
Location: Instituto Superior Tecnico - Lisbon - Portugal
Contact:

Postby administrator@. » Fri Jun 15, 2007 13:41

Hi Victor,

I know of a user that is already using MOHID in Vista and he has not reported any problems so far.

Best regards,
Luis

vmarin@antar.ciencias.uchile.cl
MOHID User
Posts: 30
Joined: Thu Jan 01, 1970 00:00

Windows Vista

Postby vmarin@antar.ciencias.uchile.cl » Tue Jun 19, 2007 22:57

O.K. This is a small list of problems we are experiencing so far with windows vista:


1. Windows vista comes with dotfixnet 2.0 and MOHID requires only 1.1, when you install it generates problems
2. MOHID GIS simply does not run under Windows Vista
3. Time series editor does not run

Any hints on how to solve these problems?

tironi@gmail.com
MOHID User
Posts: 25
Joined: Thu Jan 01, 1970 00:00

Postby tironi@gmail.com » Mon Jun 25, 2007 20:06

Any news about why MOHID GIS isn't working on Windows Vista?

When we try to start a new project, an error message saying \"Couldn't get process information from remote machine\" appears, with the options \"Details\", \"Continue\" and \"Quit\". Every time we press the \"continue\" button the error message appears again and again. The \"details\" button has the following;

See the end of this message for details on invoking
just-in-time (JIT) debugging instead of this dialog box.

************** Exception Text **************
System.InvalidOperationException: Couldn't get process information from remote machine. ---> System.ComponentModel.Win32Exception: Acceso denegado
at System.Diagnostics.PerformanceMonitor.GetData(String item)
at System.Diagnostics.PerformanceCounterLib.GetPerformanceData(String item)
at System.Diagnostics.PerformanceCounterLib.get_CategoryTable()
at System.Diagnostics.PerformanceCounterLib.GetPerformanceData(String[] categories, Int32[] categoryIndexes)
at System.Diagnostics.NtProcessManager.GetProcessInfos(PerformanceCounterLib library)
--- End of inner exception stack trace ---
at System.Diagnostics.NtProcessManager.GetProcessInfos(PerformanceCounterLib library)
at System.Diagnostics.NtProcessManager.GetProcessInfos(String machineName, Boolean isRemoteMachine)
at System.Diagnostics.ProcessManager.GetProcessInfos(String machineName)
at System.Diagnostics.Process.EnsureState(State state)
at System.Diagnostics.Process.get_WorkingSet()
at Mohid_GIS.OneDisplay.Timer2_Tick(Object sender, EventArgs e)
at System.Windows.Forms.Timer.OnTick(EventArgs e)
at System.Windows.Forms.Timer.Callback(IntPtr hWnd, Int32 msg, IntPtr idEvent, IntPtr dwTime)


************** Loaded Assemblies **************
mscorlib
Assembly Version: 1.0.5000.0
Win32 Version: 1.1.4322.2032
CodeBase: file:///c:/windows/microsoft.net/framework/v1.1.4322/mscorlib.dll
----------------------------------------
Mohid GIS
Assembly Version: 4.7.2281.20550
Win32 Version: 4.7.2281.20550
CodeBase: file:///C:/Program%20Files/Mohid/Mohid%20GIS.exe
----------------------------------------
System.Windows.Forms
Assembly Version: 1.0.5000.0
Win32 Version: 1.1.4322.2032
CodeBase: file:///c:/windows/assembly/gac/system.windows.forms/1.0.5000.0__b77a5c561934e089/system.windows.forms.dll
----------------------------------------
System
Assembly Version: 1.0.5000.0
Win32 Version: 1.1.4322.2032
CodeBase: file:///c:/windows/assembly/gac/system/1.0.5000.0__b77a5c561934e089/system.dll
----------------------------------------
System.Drawing
Assembly Version: 1.0.5000.0
Win32 Version: 1.1.4322.2032
CodeBase: file:///c:/windows/assembly/gac/system.drawing/1.0.5000.0__b03f5f7f11d50a3a/system.drawing.dll
----------------------------------------
Mohid Base
Assembly Version: 4.7.2281.20234
Win32 Version: 4.7.2281.20234
CodeBase: file:///C:/Program%20Files/Mohid/Mohid%20Base.DLL
----------------------------------------
Microsoft.VisualBasic
Assembly Version: 7.0.5000.0
Win32 Version: 7.10.6001.4
CodeBase: file:///c:/windows/assembly/gac/microsoft.visualbasic/7.0.5000.0__b03f5f7f11d50a3a/microsoft.visualbasic.dll
----------------------------------------
Accessibility
Assembly Version: 1.0.5000.0
Win32 Version: 1.1.4322.573
CodeBase: file:///c:/windows/assembly/gac/accessibility/1.0.5000.0__b03f5f7f11d50a3a/accessibility.dll
----------------------------------------
CommandBar
Assembly Version: 2.1.0.0
Win32 Version: 2.1.0.0
CodeBase: file:///C:/Program%20Files/Mohid/CommandBar.DLL
----------------------------------------
Tao.Platform.Windows
Assembly Version: 1.1.0.0
Win32 Version: 1.1.0.0
CodeBase: file:///C:/Program%20Files/Mohid/Tao.Platform.Windows.DLL
----------------------------------------
System.Data
Assembly Version: 1.0.5000.0
Win32 Version: 1.1.4322.2032
CodeBase: file:///c:/windows/assembly/gac/system.data/1.0.5000.0__b77a5c561934e089/system.data.dll
----------------------------------------
System.Xml
Assembly Version: 1.0.5000.0
Win32 Version: 1.1.4322.2032
CodeBase: file:///c:/windows/assembly/gac/system.xml/1.0.5000.0__b77a5c561934e089/system.xml.dll
----------------------------------------
Tao.OpenGl
Assembly Version: 1.1.0.0
Win32 Version: 1.1.0.0
CodeBase: file:///C:/Program%20Files/Mohid/Tao.OpenGl.DLL
----------------------------------------

************** JIT Debugging **************
To enable just in time (JIT) debugging, the config file for this
application or machine (machine.config) must have the
jitDebugging value set in the system.windows.forms section.
The application must also be compiled with debugging
enabled.

For example:

<configuration>
<system.windows.forms jitDebugging=\"true\" />
</configuration>

When JIT debugging is enabled, any unhandled exception
will be sent to the JIT debugger registered on the machine
rather than being handled by this dialog.



Any idea about what's going on??

Thanks beforehand,

Antonio Tironi
Universidad de Chile.

tironi@gmail.com
MOHID User
Posts: 25
Joined: Thu Jan 01, 1970 00:00

Postby tironi@gmail.com » Mon Jun 25, 2007 20:15

hmmm, I couldn't paste the complete details of the error message...

any idea about what's going on with Vista??

thanks beforehand,

Antonio Tironi
Universidad de Chile.

administrator@.
Site Admin
Posts: 348
Joined: Thu Jan 01, 1970 00:00
Location: Instituto Superior Tecnico - Lisbon - Portugal
Contact:

Postby administrator@. » Fri Jun 29, 2007 15:42

Dear Antonio and Victor,

We've tried installing MOHID in some computers running Windows Vista and in some (not all) we've found similar problems to yours.

In order to solve the problems with the TimeSeriesEditor you need to install the Office XP Web Components 10.

http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/details.aspx?FamilyID=982B0359-0A86-4FB2-A7EE-5F3A499515DD&displaylang=EN

Meanwhile we've have update MOHID GIS to .NET2.0 and this has solved the problems with MOHID GIS in Windows Vista. The current version of MOHID, 4.9, still has this problems but we will release a new version maybe next week with the fixes.

Thank you for reporting the error. Best regards,
Luis

tironi@gmail.com
MOHID User
Posts: 25
Joined: Thu Jan 01, 1970 00:00

Postby tironi@gmail.com » Wed Jul 04, 2007 14:21

Hello everyone...

any news about the updated version of MOHID GIS??

life's not easy without it...jeje


Greetings...

vmarin@antar.ciencias.uchile.cl
MOHID User
Posts: 30
Joined: Thu Jan 01, 1970 00:00

Any chance to see MOHID 5.0?

Postby vmarin@antar.ciencias.uchile.cl » Sun Jul 22, 2007 10:38

Greetings,

It would be nice to see the next version of MOHID. Not being able to run MOHID GIS under Windows Vista makes modelling life very complicated! Any chance to see MOHID 5.0 in the near future?

Best regards


Víctor

administrator@.
Site Admin
Posts: 348
Joined: Thu Jan 01, 1970 00:00
Location: Instituto Superior Tecnico - Lisbon - Portugal
Contact:

Postby administrator@. » Wed Jul 25, 2007 16:09

Hi Victor,

I'll try to make a test Beta-Release for Windows Vista soon. I have to talk with Frank to do this. Sorry for the delays but it's not easy to solve this problem especially because we don't use Vista yet.

Best regards,
Luis

pwatts@iprj.uerj.br
MOHID Beginner
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Jan 01, 1970 00:00

Mohid and Windows Vista

Postby pwatts@iprj.uerj.br » Wed Mar 12, 2008 17:48

Dear Luis,

I have a Windows Vista installed and every time I try to lauch Mohid I have the message \"Couldn't get process information from remote machine\". Do you know how should I proceed ?

Best regards

luis_at_mohid.com
MOHID Developer
Posts: 553
Joined: Thu Jan 01, 1970 00:00
Location: Instituto Superior Técnico - Technical University of Lisbon
Contact:

Postby luis_at_mohid.com » Thu Mar 13, 2008 15:00

Hi,

We are still working on this, but many users are able to use MOHID GUI and GIS with Windows Vista. Normally the easy solution is to run the programs as Admnistrator. Also make sure that you have the .NET framework 1.1 installed.

Best regards,
Luis


Return to “MOHID General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest