PROBLEM Creation a Tide with FES2004 and run-tide.bat

Discussion about MOHID support tools
camillecouzi@yahoo.fr
MOHID User
Posts: 33
Joined: Thu Jan 01, 1970 00:00

PROBLEM Creation a Tide with FES2004 and run-tide.bat

Postby camillecouzi@yahoo.fr » Tue Apr 28, 2009 22:53

Hi,
I am a beginner in mohid, and I have a little problem with the creation of tide in my open boundaries.
I am following the instructions given on the page http://www.mohid.com/wiki/index.php?tit ... r_Mohid%3F .
- I have created my file .xyz with the points of my open boundaries, named TideGaugeTest.xyz, and I put it in the 'bin' field
- I have downloaded the 600MB file tide.nc and put in the 'bin' like it is told in the web page,
- I edit my rund-tide.bat file like that:

REM mohid-tide.exe \\\\..\\..\\tide.nc TideGaugeTest.xyz output.dat 0 2.08
mohid-tide.exe \\\\..\\..\\tide.nc TideGaugeTest.xyz ouput.dat 0 2.08


and I get my output file like that:
<begingauge>
NAME : nth test
LONGITUDE : -73 55 8
LATITUDE : -40 44 43
METRIC_X : -73.919
METRIC_Y : -40.7454
REF_LEVEL : 2.08
TIME_REF : 0
M2 : 0 0
S2 : 0 0
K1 : 0 0
K2 : 0 0
N2 : 0 0
2N2 : 8.20459E-039 8.20459E-039
O1 : 0 0
Q1 : 0 0
P1 : 0 0
M4 : 0 0
Mf : 0 0
Mm : 0 0
Mtm : 0 0
MSqm : 0 0
<endgauge>


<begingauge>
NAME : nth test
LONGITUDE : -74 3 36
LATITUDE : -40 53 10
METRIC_X : -74.06
METRIC_Y : -40.8863
REF_LEVEL : 2.08
TIME_REF : 0
M2 : 0 0
S2 : 0 0
K1 : 0 0
K2 : 0 0
N2 : 0 0
2N2 : 8.69169E-040 8.69169E-040
O1 : 0 0
Q1 : 0 0
P1 : 0 0
M4 : 0 0
Mf : 0 0
Mm : 0 0
Mtm : 0 0
MSqm : 0 0
<endgauge>

...


I am really surprised to get only zeros, only values for the 2N2. It is really strange, I have downloaded the tide.nc 4 times, made various tests, and I always get that.
What is the problem?

Thanks a lot for your quick answer, this problem is very anoying for the continuation of my work...

Camille.
[/quote]

administrator@.
Site Admin
Posts: 349
Joined: Thu Jan 01, 1970 00:00
Location: Instituto Superior Tecnico - Lisbon - Portugal
Contact:

Postby administrator@. » Mon May 25, 2009 18:45

HI Camille,

The points you have defined, are they very close to the coast? This can be a reason for the harmonic extraction to be erratic.

can you try defining some points far from the coast just to see if it works?

all the best,
Luis

ma_couceiro@yahoo.com.br
MOHID Beginner
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Jan 01, 1970 00:00

Re: PROBLEM Creation a Tide with FES2004 and run-tide.bat

Postby ma_couceiro@yahoo.com.br » Wed Feb 29, 2012 21:37

I'm having the same problem as Camille.

I've tried to put points away from the coast, but did'n work.

Have you any idea what migth be happening?

Best regards

Mariana

luis_at_mohid.com
MOHID Developer
Posts: 553
Joined: Thu Jan 01, 1970 00:00
Location: Instituto Superior Técnico - Technical University of Lisbon
Contact:

Re: PROBLEM Creation a Tide with FES2004 and run-tide.bat

Postby luis_at_mohid.com » Thu Mar 08, 2012 16:40

Hi Mariana,

I've ran the program with the data you've sent me and everything seemed ok. I've sent you the results by e-mail.

Maybe you need to download again the tide.nc file. Not sure of what is causing the problem.

Cheers,
Luis


Return to “MOHID Tools”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest